Footprint Awards 2014 shortlist announced

By Lauren Houghton

- Last updated on GMT

Related tags Hotel

Winners of the 2014 Footprint Awards will be announced at the awards ceremony in London on 22 May
Winners of the 2014 Footprint Awards will be announced at the awards ceremony in London on 22 May
The shortlist for the 2014 Footprint Awards has been revealed with the Spirit Pub Company, Ampersand and Enterprise Inns all being noted for their contributions to sustainability in the hospitality industry. 

The Footprint Awards celebrates responsible business practices in the foodservice and hospitality industry, with this year’s entry levels succeeding in breaking all records that were set in the previous years of the competition.

Chief executive of the Footprint Media Group Nick Fenwicke-Clennell said: “The sheer number and quality of entries demonstrates that the way our industry perceives sustainability has changed enormously in recent years. The very notion of sustainability having once been a ‘buzz word’ has become outdated. 

“This shortlist is testament to the fact that it is now a critical issue very much embedded in business plans and acknowledged as an area that can really add value to operations. However, this is by no means a fait accompli. The goalposts continue to move and there is certainly no room for complacency for those organisations who want to continue to make their mark in this area.”

There are 13 awards to be won and the winners will be announced at the awards ceremony on 22 May at East Wintergarden in London.

Full shortlist for Footprint Awards 2014:

Sustainable Use of Natural Resources Award

  • Bidvest 3663
  • London Linen Group
  • Mara Seaweed

Waste Management and Reduction Award

  • Brakes
  • Coca-Cola Enterprises
  • Lexington Catering
  • Nestlé Professional
  • Winnow Solutions

Environmentally Friendly Logistics Award

  • Aramark & Chef Direct
  • Bidvest 3663
  • Spirit Pub Company

Sustainable Sourcing Award

  • Ampersand
  • Court Catering
  • The University of Manchester

Sustainable Supplier Award

  • Delphis Eco
  • Huhtamaki
  • London Linen Group
  • Uptown Biodiesel
  • Wyke Farms

Energy Efficiency Award

  • Court Catering
  • Quintex
  • Wyke Farms

Sustainable Catering Equipment Manufacturer Award

  • Active Food Solutions
  • Electrolux Professional
  • Gram UK
  • Victor Manufacturing
  • Winterhalter

Economic Sustainability Award

  • Enterprise Inns
  • Spirit Pub Company
  • Wyke Farms

Stakeholder Engagement Award

  • Green10
  • Solocup Europe
  • WRAP

Social Impact and Diversity Award

  • Centreplate
  • CH&Co
  • Compass Group
  • Enterprise Inns
  • Sodexo

Sustainability in Education

  • University of Brighton
  • University of Durham
  • University of Manchester

Nominees for the Community Vote and Special Achievement Award will be announced later in the month.

Related news

Show more