Large swathes of northern England face Tier 3 restrictions as London remains in Tier 2

By James McAllister

- Last updated on GMT

Full Coronavirus tier restrictions announced by Government London Liverpool Tier 2 Manchester, Lancashire, Newcastle, Birmingham and Leicester Tier 3

Related tags Coronavirus tier system

Hospitality businesses across large swathes of northern England and the Midlands, including in Manchester, Lancashire, Newcastle, Birmingham and Leicester, will be forced to remain locked down under tougher Tier 3 restrictions.

The Government has published a full list of which areas and regions in England will head into which tier following the lifting of the national lockdown next Wednesday (2 December).

Other areas heading into Tier 3, where hospitality businesses will only be permitted to offer takeaways, include Bristol, Leeds, Hull, City of Wolverhampton, Blackpool and Coventry.

London will remain in Tier 2, meaning hospitality businesses will be able to open, but wet-led pubs and bars unable to serve a ‘substantial meal’, must close.

Meanwhile Liverpool, which was in Tier 3 prior to the lockdown, will move down into Tier 2.

The Isle of Wight, Cornwall and the Isles of Scilly are the only areas in England to remain in Tier 1, under which hospitality can continue operating with limited restrictions including an 11pm curfew on operating hours.

Addressing the House of Commons earlier today (26 November), Health Secretary Matt Hancock confirmed that local authorities facing higher restriction would receive increased funding through the Government’s Contain Outbreak Management Fund.

The Government is also launching a ‘major community testing programme’ in Tier 3 areas, with the hope that this will help regions get out of the toughest restrictions quicker.

Regulations require the Government to review the tier allocations every 14 days, with the first review complete by the end of 16 December.

This means some areas could move tiers again before Christmas.

Click here​ to find out which tier your area is in via the Government's postcode tracker, or check the full list of local restriction tiers by area below.

Tier 1: Medium alert

South East

  • Isle of Wight

South West

  • Cornwall
  • Isles of Scilly

Tier 2: High alert

North West

  • Cumbria
  • Liverpool City Region
  • Warrington and Cheshire


  • York
  • North Yorkshire

West Midlands

  • Worcestershire
  • Herefordshire
  • Shropshire and Telford & Wrekin

East Midlands

  • Rutland
  • Northamptonshire

East of England

  • Suffolk
  • Hertfordshire
  • Cambridgeshire, including Peterborough
  • Norfolk
  • Essex, Thurrock and Southend on Sea
  • Bedfordshire and Milton Keynes


  • all 32 boroughs plus the City of London

South East

  • East Sussex
  • West Sussex
  • Brighton and Hove
  • Surrey
  • Reading
  • Wokingham
  • Bracknell Forest
  • Windsor and Maidenhead
  • West Berkshire
  • Hampshire (except the Isle of Wight), Portsmouth and Southampton
  • Buckinghamshire
  • Oxfordshire

South West

  • South Somerset, Somerset West and Taunton, Mendip and Sedgemoor
  • Bath and North East Somerset
  • Dorset
  • Bournemouth
  • Christchurch
  • Poole
  • Gloucestershire
  • Wiltshire and Swindon
  • Devon

Tier 3: Very High alert

North East

  • Tees Valley Combined Authority:
    • Hartlepool
    • Middlesbrough
    • Stockton-on-Tees
    • Redcar and Cleveland
    • Darlington
  • North East Combined Authority:
    • Sunderland
    • South Tyneside
    • Gateshead
    • Newcastle upon Tyne
    • North Tyneside
    • County Durham
    • Northumberland

North West

  • Greater Manchester
  • Lancashire
  • Blackpool
  • Blackburn with Darwen

Yorkshire and The Humber

  • The Humber
  • West Yorkshire
  • South Yorkshire

West Midlands

  • Birmingham and Black Country
  • Staffordshire and Stoke-on-Trent
  • Warwickshire, Coventry and Solihull

East Midlands

  • Derby and Derbyshire
  • Nottingham and Nottinghamshire
  • Leicester and Leicestershire
  • Lincolnshire

South East

  • Slough (remainder of Berkshire is tier 2: High alert)
  • Kent and Medway

South West

  • Bristol
  • South Gloucestershire
  • North Somerset

Related news

Show more

Follow us

Hospitality Guides

View more